//
now reading...
On red soil

Professional communication

Some have asked what I do at work here. Well, one thing is to go to meetings, another is to answer e-mails that follow. Here’s an e-mail conversation that’s just too funny to keep to my Inbox only!

Sent: 25. February 2011 9:19
Subject: Goodmorning

Dear X (me)
Please would I find a favor to ask you one question.  I am Y (Tanzanian young male research assistant from a UN organisation), i saw you for the first time in the PMG meeting yesterday.
Thanks
Y

I think: very polite guy, wonder what he wanted to ask…

Sent: Friday, February 25, 2011 9:25 AM
Subject: RE: Goodmorning

Hi Y,
Yes, I remember you from the meeting. What did you want to ask?
Kind regards,
X

And a few minutes later I get the reply..

Sent: 25. February 2011 9:29
Subject: RE: Goodmorning

Dear X
Please, I would appreciate if I know your marital status
Thanks
Y

Umm…..??? Is this for real? Not planning on answering.

Sent: 25. February 2011 10:16
Subject:
RE: Goodmorning

Dear X
Please forgive me for the question if am wrong.
Thanks
Y

Fine, I’ll answer something.

Sent: Friday, February 25, 2011 10:26 AM
Subject:
RE: Goodmorning

Dear Y,
Unless the question is directly relevant to your job, it’s not quite appropriate to ask those kinds of questions in a work setting. But to answer, I am not married.
Regards,
X

Sent: 25. February 2011 10:34
Subject:
RE: Goodmorning

Dear X
Please I am sorry, Thanks in advance for your advice.
Y

Should’ve just left it at that, but the guy seemed very apologetic so I put my final 5 cents in.

Sent: Friday, February 25, 2011 10:49 AM
Subject:
RE: Goodmorning

Y,
No worries. Wikiendi njema.
X

Sent: 25. February 2011 10:59
Subject:
RE: Goodmorning

Dear X
Thanks  a lot, I worried about this.  I am so happy you  know Kiswahili wikiendi njema to you,  I wish to  be together. Where you will be in this weekend?
Y

Really, should’ve just left it at his previous e-mail, or even written the ‘have a nice weekend’ in English instead of Swahili, maybe that would’ve helped. Not answering anymore…

Sent: 25. February 2011 12:03
Subject:

Dear X
Please sorry again, may I have your contacts for un official communication. My mobile phone is xxxxxxxx.
Thanks
Y

Let’s be more clear about this..

Sent: Friday, February 25, 2011 12:14 PM
Subject: RE:

Dear Y,
I want to keep our communication to official and work-related matters only. Thanks.
X

Sent: 25. February 2011 12:23
Subject: RE:

Dear X,
It is okay, thanks
Y

Now, you probably think this was the end of discussion? Think again. Weekend goes by, and the guy has come up with a work-related issue to communicate with me.

Sent: 28. February 2011 15:12
Subject: Minutes

Dear X,
I need to incorporate your PMG meeting minutes and mine, please would you sent it to me so that I can make a comparison for more clarification before submission.
Thanks
Y

Sent: Monday, February 28, 2011 3:36 PM
Subject: RE: Minutes

Dear Y,
Unfortunately I did not take minutes from the meeting, I wrote by hand some of my own comments on the side of the papers and thus don’t really have any useful notes to share with you. Usually if there is anything unclear about minutes from a previous meeting we deal with them in the beginning of the next meeting, so you shouldn’t have to worry too much.
Kind regards,
X

Sent: 28. February 2011 15:42
Subject: RE: Minutes

Dear X
Okay thanks a lot, I worried  much about it because it was the first time to be involved.
Thanks
Y

Aww, what more can I say. Nothing much, really. Let’s see if there are more work-related issues he could ask me about. Until then…

The end.
_______________________________________________________________
Written 4.3.2011

Or so I thought. As I got to work this morning, a new e-mail was waiting for me.

Sent: 3. February 2011 14:58
Subject: Article

Dear X,
Please find the attached article and address  comments on. I would appreciate for you cooperation. I am still working on it so your comments are very useful in accomplishing the article.  
Thanks
Y

Incredibly persistent and innovative guy! I don’t want to start analysing the meaning of him sending his (work-related, mind you) article to me, but let’s just say it’s a three pager titled “Success of marriage is the way forward for HIV prevention in Tanzania”. Gave me some pretty good laughs this morning!

Discussion

One thought on “Professional communication

  1. HILARIOUS 😀

    Posted by Maria | 4 March 2011, 09:58

Leave a Reply

All writings on the wall

If you want to subscribe to my blog and receive notifications of new posts by e-mail, write it down and say

Join 18 other followers

